The Hundredth Queen

The Hundredth Queen by Emily R. King


No star rating due to DNF


ARC received from Netgalley for fair review


Publish date: June 1, 2017

*yes, I know I am a little late*



I. JUST. CAN’T. I hate DNFing an ARC, but no thanks. 

My overall reaction:

I gave this a solid shot, and by 73% I am baffled by the lack of romantic development, despite there being a huge romantic element. I get instant attraction, but really? instant attraction to the first man you’ve seen, and despite the ramifications of possible DEATH you risk your life and their’s for someone you hardly know? 

You also hate someone for something you have been groomed for for your entire life? I mean, I get the girls wanting some kind of personal freedom. But honestly, having had only known one kind of life..you think that they would have been a little bit more accepting and honored on how their life is leading.

I’m sorry I just feel like the romance is hurried and there for has ruined the book. I like the idea of this magical element that can essentially destroy you if it’s not properly honed. I also loved that even though said magical element is news to our character, that she’s not just like magically all powerful and bad ass. The problem for me is, I hope they get caught and are killed even if the benefactor is a little gross, and I don’t think you’re supposed to feel about the main character like that.

-Scrill

Leave a Reply

